bhattacharya, sudip

I want to write about love,
even when I feel hateful
I want to write about heartbreak,
even when I’m full of joy

I know. I get it. I’m brown.
I know what it feels like to be looked at, to be assumed to be something.
Profiled. But pure and simple: taken down.
Taken apart.
I want to write about that too.
Heck, when I see brown faces taken apart, left for dead.
When Eric Garner was choked, I was angry too.
All I could write about was about anger and pain, and feeling low and lost.

But I want to write about love.
I want to write about race.
I want to write about spaceships.
I want to write.

I write about love.
I write about being South Asian-American/ Bengali/ Short/ Funny/ Serious/Fan of salmon
I write about the first time I saw her and how she smiled and how I smiled
I write about falling for her
I write about kissing her for the first time
and that same day, coming home and someone yelling at me to go back where I came from
I write for us, and me, and you, and us
spaceships as blue as the sky

Leave a Reply

